How to Write (Instruction) So People Can Learn, Patti Shank

Event Details

How to Write (Instruction) So People Can Learn, Patti Shank

Time: March 12, 2020 from 3pm to 4pm
Location: Online
Event Type: webinar
Organized By: Donald H Taylor
Latest Activity: Mar 16

Export to Outlook or iCal (.ics)

Event Description

How to Write (Instruction) So People Can Learn

Patti Shank

Writing for instruction differs from other kinds of writing because we must write to make it easier to learn, remember, and apply. But a lot of instructional content makes these outcomes harder! Content that overloads memory. Writing that makes it hard to find or understand needed information.

The good news is that research offers easy-to-apply instructional, writing, usability, and information design principles that show us how to write for clarity, comprehension, and use.

In this session, participants will apply research-driven and actionable tactics that help us:

  • Understand the attributes and limitations of memory 
  • Use memory attributes and limitations to write clearer and more comprehensible content
  • Analyze the readability of content 
  • Apply tactics that make content more readable

Patti Shank PhD is the author of Write and Organize for Deeper Learning, Practice and Feedback for Deeper Learning, and Manage Memory for Deeper Learning. She’s an internationally recognized instructional designer, researcher, and learning analyst who makes these tactics clear and actionable in her books and workshops.

Comment Wall

Add a Comment

RSVP for How to Write (Instruction) So People Can Learn, Patti Shank to add comments!

Join the Learning and Skills Group

Comment by Sally Anderson on March 12, 2020 at 15:01

Hi from Borehamwood

Comment by Patti Shank on March 9, 2020 at 20:00

Time zone listed is GMT (UK). US: 8 AM PT, 9 AM MT, 10 AM CT, 11 AM ET.

Attending (13)

Might attend (3)

Members

Sponsor promotion

LSG Sponsors

© 2020   Created by Donald H Taylor.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service